top of page


The Scarborough Cricket Club was formed in 1946 as part of the Scarborough Sportsmen's Club and competed with considerable success in the Metropolitan Cricket Association. In 1957/58 the club was admitted into the WACA competition, limited to Second Grade and Third Grade teams. In the next 10 seasons, the club progressed to having a Fourth Grade team, which went on to win the club's first Premiership in 1966/67. After much lobbying and hard work by the committee of the time, Scarborough Cricket Club earned a promotion into the First Grade competition in 1968/69. Success in the early 1970s saw the club participate in three successive First Grade Finals, culminating in the club winning its first First Grade Flag in the 1976/77 season.

The 1980s saw a relatively lean period for the club with appearances in the finals very rare and a lack of success in most grades. With a heavy emphasis on homegrown talent and a strong junior development program, Scarborough emerged in the 1990s as one of the power clubs of the WACA competition. With First Grade Premierships in 1991/92, 1994/95, 1997/98, and 1999/2000, and three WACA Club Championships in 1993/94, 1996/97, and 1999/2000.

In 2002/03 the club reached the finals in all four grades, emulating the feat of the 1999/2000 season, and at last, won the Sunday League One-Day competition. Following the success of the previous season, Scarborough went on to win the 2003/04 Club Championship and 2004/05 Club Championship. This run of success for the club resulted in First Grade Premierships in 2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09, and 2009/10 seasons, making Scarborough one of the most formidable teams in the 2000s.

With the addition of Twenty20 Cricket into the WACA competition in the 2007/08 season, it did not take long for Scarborough to win the Twenty20 Competition in 2011/12.

Over the years, the club has been represented by many players who have progressed through the junior development program and reached First Class Cricket, representing Western Australia, and some players are progressing to represent Australia. To view the list of players who have represented Western Australia and Australia. 

bottom of page